My BNI Departure

business-meeting-1239191-1280x960

I’ve been thinking about how my new venture will benefit busy professionals who are looking for measurable success with their networking efforts. It’s no secret that I’ve been a die hard BNI fan for 10 years. There’s a certain camaraderie with BNI folks. We’re like family. We’ve laughed, we’ve cried, we’ve closed business, we’ve lost business, we’ve celebrated, we’ve mourned.

But it’s also no secret that I formally resigned from BNI in January. Why? Because I’m at a different stage in my career, and my new venture is a better fit for my goals and the goals of my clients. Will I continue to refer people to BNI? Absolutely. Why? Because I know the hearts of the majority of the members. I’m sure I will always be a BNI fan. After all, it is where I learned a lot of my skill set, built meaningful connections, and I will be forever grateful.

I must admit my resignation did not come easy. It was probably the hardest, most heart wrenching decision of my career thus far. Questions plagued me. Who am I without BNI? Will I be able to maintain my credibility without BNI? Will people still seek my advice and direction? And to my delight, the answers became clearer. Who am I? I am a creative, passionate force to be reckoned with. I am a credible business woman because I always have my clients’ best interest at heart, not my pocketbook. And yes, people still look to me for business advice and counsel. The only thing that’s changing is my business address and the name of the group I have chosen to have a vested interest in. However, I will still have my clients best interest at heart meaning if BNI is a better fit for them, I will refer them rather than trying to make money off them. To me, that is the essence of being “sensitive to the feelings and rights of others.”

The attached article (at the end of this post) is my heart when it comes to working with integrity and honor. I pledge to first honor my own MBA Oath, but I also pledge to:

– “Never trample on the rights, dignity and virtue of others.

– Play an honest game that is based on ethical behavior and personal accountability.

– Let my success be based on my own potential and authentic substance.

– Realize that the higher I climb, the more personal responsibility I must assume and the greater my willingness must be to remain open to people’s suggestions, to listen and incorporate others’ ideas and to be ready to take the blame for things that don’t work out rather than shifting it onto others.

– Strive to always be considerate of the people I live and work with, so that when I do make mistakes, they will be understanding.

– Strive to keep my good reputation and dignity intact.

– Be more cooperative than competitive.

– Suggest ways to [find common ground to] collaborate on projects, tasks, activities, chores, events, etc.

– Remember cooperative approaches allow for differences of opinion, changes of mind, compromises and a way to showcase every person’s best talents at the expense of none.”

The article is attached if you’re interested to read more…How to Be Competitive in a Non-Destructive Way.

Happy connecting!

About Ginger Terrell

Ginger’s work experience spans several industries to include Marketing & Advertising, Insurance, and Food & Beverage. She is the Regional Director with the Southeast division of The Referrals Group and is passionate about business and personal development. Ginger holds a leadership MBA from Liberty University and is best known for elevating the lives of others through C.E.I.R.S. (Connect. Engage. Inspire. Refer. Succeed). When she’s not wearing her business hat, she enjoys gourmet cooking, blogging, traveling, music, and reading.
This entry was posted in Career/Networking/Personal Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

