Ditch the canned creamed soups! Make your own! Cream of Mushroom.

You know those recipes that call for “cream of ______ soup”. Well, I started thinking about this the other day and decided that surely I can easily make my own “cream of” soups from scratch for alot less than I’d spend buying the awful cans in the store. I’m newly married (December 2011) and I decided that I didn’t want to be the wife that opened a can or heated up a tv dinner for my husband, so I joined my sister-in-law (Mary – www.Chattavore.com) and decided to shop local and cook from scratch.

I adapted my cream of mushroom soup from Food Network’s Barefoot Contessa. Since I didn’t have all her ingredients on hand, I decided to half the recipe. I used regular mushrooms, used all 1/2 and 1/2 (rather than the heavy cream), used chicken stock (which I had made from scratch and had waiting for me in my freezer) in place of the water, used whole rosemary along with thyme and whole basil, used green onions & regular onion instead of leeks, and left out the parsley.

It still turned out amazing – I plan to follow the recipe more closely next time (with the exception of the parsley) and perhaps play with some sherry or somthing.

The result? Amazing – my husband even said he’d like to have this soup with some homemade bread one night – so, guess who’s going to making soup pretty soon for dinner?

Happy cooking!

About Ginger Terrell

Ginger’s work experience spans several industries to include Marketing & Advertising, Insurance, and Food & Beverage. She is the Regional Director with the Southeast division of The Referrals Group and is passionate about business and personal development. Ginger holds a leadership MBA from Liberty University and is best known for elevating the lives of others through C.E.I.R.S. (Connect. Engage. Inspire. Refer. Succeed). When she’s not wearing her business hat, she enjoys gourmet cooking, blogging, traveling, music, and reading.
This entry was posted in For the Love of Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

